How McLaren defined ten days at the Italian GP

© McLaren, 5 September 2012

McLaren has a long history of success at Monza, which is one of the oldest and most revered racetracks in the world. Here’s how the team defined ten days in the history of the Italian Grand Prix.

1. September 8 1968
Bruce McLaren takes an early lead after starting second, but he drops out of contention mid-race when he’s forced to pit for more oil. Denny Hulme takes up the fight for McLaren in the second M7A and survives a close battle with Johnny Servoz-Gavin and Jacky Ickx to take his first win of the season. © AP Photo/Lev

2. September 9 1984
Survival of the fittest. Niki Lauda starts fourth and keeps out of trouble to win the race, which is blighted by an unusually high number of retirements. At the end of the race, Lauda and second placed Michele Alboreto are the only drivers on the lead lap. © AP Photo/Reed Saxon
3. September 8 1985
Alain Prost’s fifth win of the season. He qualifies fifth and works his way to the front, taking the lead with six laps to go when Keke Rosberg retires with engine trouble. The possibility of two McLarens on the podium is over when Lauda retires with transmission problems. © AP Photo
4. September 11 1988
Ayrton Senna dominates the race, until lap 49. He converts his tenth pole position of the year into a convincing lead, but comes unstuck while lapping the Williams of 11th placed Jean-Louis Schlesser at the first chicane. They collide and Ayrton is taken out of the race, handing victory to Gerhard Berger’s Ferrari. Had Senna won that day, McLaren would have won every race of the 1988 Grand Prix season. © AP Photo/John Redman
5. September 11 1989
Senna starts from pole position and dominates the race until lap 45, when he’s forced to retire with engine trouble. Prost, who has just been confirmed as a Ferrari driver for 1990, inherits the lead and takes an emotional win from Gerhard Berger. © AAP Photo/Tsugufumi Matsumoto
6. September 9 1990
The race is red flagged on lap one after Derek Warwick crashes at Parabolica. At the re-start, Senna converts pole position into a convincing lead, which he never loses. Berger runs second for much of the race, but the chances of a McLaren 1-2 fade with Berger's brakes late in the race. Prost passes him, demoting the Austrian to third place. © AP Photo/Neokazu Oinuma
7. September 13 1992
Senna's second and final victory at Monza. Williams dominates the early stages of the race, but both FW14s retire with hydraulic problems and Senna is left out front. Berger comes home fourth in the second MP4/7. © AP Photo/Denis Paquin
8. September 7 1997
A brilliant start from David Coulthard sees him jump from sixth on the grid to third by the end of lap one. He takes second place when Heinz-Harald Frentzen pits and then follows race leader Jean Alesi into the pits on lap 32. McLaren executes a brilliant pitstop under pressure and DC exits the pits in the lead. He’s 1.9s ahead of Alesi at the flag. © AP Photo/Luca Bruno
9. September 4 2005
Kimi Raikkonen and Juan Pablo Montoya are first and second fastest in qualifying, but Raikkonen drops ten places on the grid after an overnight engine change. Montoya inherits pole and is never headed in the race, despite tyre trouble late in the race. Raikkonen comes home fourth in the second MP4-20. © AP Photo/Luca Bruno
10. September 9 2007
McLaren's only one-two finish at Monza to date. Fernando Alonso starts from pole and is never headed; Lewis Hamilton starts second and ably back him up in the race. Hamilton looks set to challenge Alonso at the start, but he’s hit by Felipe Massa under braking for Turn 1 and settles for second place, rather than risk an accident with his teammate. © Keystone/EPA/Oliver Weiken


Want to be the fastest to lap up F1 content? ‘Follow’ us on TWITTER and ‘like’ us on FACEBOOK.