FIA publishes 2013 entry list, HRT absent

By Ubaid Parkar, 1 December 2012

The International Automobile Federation published the entry list for the 2013 Formula 1 season with the notable absence of HRT, suggesting that the Spanish team has brought the shutters down to its operations.

Thesan Capital, the owners of HRT, had said last month that they were in talks with a number of potential buyers to sell the team but appear to have failed to rope in an investor to keep the team alive.

Friday was set as the deadline for all teams to pay the entry fees for the participation in next year’s championship, with each to shell out a basic $500,000 along with $5,000 for every point scored in the 2012 season.

However, as the per new regulation, the constructors’ champions are required to cough up $6,000 for every point recorded, which means Red Bull had to pay $3.26 million.

HRT, which finished last in the standings with no points, was required to pay only the standard $500,000.

"HRT fails to enter for 2013, we are down to 22 cars. With 2014 engine costs looking scary can see 'customer' F1 cars back on the agenda," former F1 driver Martin Brundle mentioned on his Twitter page.

The entry list confirms the participation of the remaining 11 teams although not all the drivers are named yet.

Kimi Raikkonen’s teammate to be established at Lotus indicating that Romain Grosjean’s future is uncertain. And although Sauber and Toro Rosso named both its drivers for the 2013 season, the schedule declares that their line-ups are yet to be announced.

Force India, Caterham and Marussia’s drivers are not named either although Paul di Resta, Charles Pic and Timo Glock, respectively, will be continuing behind the wheel of an F1 car next year.

No. Driver Team
1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2 Mark Webber
3 Fernando Alonso Ferrari
4 Felipe Massa
5 Jenson Button McLaren
6 Sergio Perez
7 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus
9 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
10 Lewis Hamilton
11 TBA Sauber
12 TBA
14 TBA Force India
15 TBA
16 Pastor Maldonado Williams
17 Valtteri Bottas
18 TBA Toro Rosso
19 TBA
20 TBA Caterham
21 TBA
22 TBA Marussia
23 TBA

Want to be the fastest to lap up F1 content? ‘Follow’ us on TWITTER and ‘like’ us on FACEBOOK.

Related: 2013, 2012, HRT