Red Bull trounces McLaren's pit stop record

© F1 Pulse, 3 April 2013
© Paul Gilham/Getty Images/Red Bull Racing

Red Bull broke the record for the fastest pit stop set by McLaren last year on five separate occasions during the Malaysian Grand Prix alone.

At Hockenheim last season, Jenson Button’s stop was registered at 2.31 seconds but the defending champions broke that record by 0.26 seconds during the race at Sepang with Mark Webber’s second stop at lap 19 timed at 2.05 seconds.

What's more interesting is that the Australian driver, who had his victory snatched by teammate Sebastian Vettel, had all his four pit stops faster than Button's record.

The following are the five pit stops, which were quicker than Button’s record from last year:

Driver Stop Lap Time
Sebastian Vettel 1 5 2.13 secs
Mark Webber 1 7 2.13 secs
Mark Webber 2 19 2.05 secs
Mark Webber 3 31 2.21 secs
Mark Webber 4 43 2.26 secs

“These times are all taken from the car data which each team uses to record the stationary times,” Red Bull said in a statement. "TV do their own rough-and-ready calculations, and sometimes we take timings off video as well, though for real precision the common practice in the pit lane is to use the car’s own datalog.

“There’s always a quicker stop out there, and it’s possible this season we’ll see the magical two-second barrier breached at some point,” it added affirming McLaren’s pre-season hopes.


Want to be the fastest to lap up F1 content? ‘Follow’ us on TWITTER and ‘like’ us on FACEBOOK.


Nike Air 1999 Jordan 5 Fire Red size 8.5 DScheap jordans for sale2008 NIKE AIR JORDAN COUNTDOWN PACK COLLEZIONE CDP 16/7 MULTI COLOR SIZE 11cheap jordans for saleNike Air Jordan Retro 6 VI GMP Gold Medal Size 12cheap jordans for saleAir Jordan Retro XIII 13 Low Midnight Navy/Hornets 310810-107 Size 10 No Boxcheap jordans for sale(937) 100% Authentic Nike Air Jordan 21 Playoff Sz 13 White/Black/Redcheap jordans for sale2003 Nike Air Jordan I 1 Retro Black Patent Metallic Gold sz 9cheap jordans for saleNike air foamposite pro pure platinum Jordan Size 12 PADS Retro 1 3 4 11 13 Bredcheap jordans for saleNike Air Jordan Flight Runner 2 Black Red 8 New in box NIBcheap jordans for saleNIKE AIR JORDAN RETRO 1 HIGH OG "SHADOW" SOFT GRaY/BLACK 555088 014 men SZ 10.5cheap jordans for sale