Korea, Mexico and New Jersey axed in 19-race 2014 F1 calendar

© F1 Pulse, 4 December 2013
© AP Photo/Shuji Kajiyama/F1 Pulse
© AP Images/F1 Pulse

New races in Austria and Russia were confirmed on Wednesday, while the provisional events in New Jersey, Korea and Mexico were cut in the revised 2014 Formula 1 calendar.

Teams had been angry in October that the provisional calendar included a record 22 races, and the finalised schedule remains the same at 19.

The calendar was published after the final meeting of the FIA World Motor Sport Council (WMSC) meeting that took place on Wednesday in Paris, France.

Australia remains as the season-opener on March 16 while the Austrian Grand Prix returns to F1 after a decade-long absence in June. Russia will make its debut in October, right after the Japanese GP, and Abu Dhabi will host the season-finale - for the third time - on November 23.

The Bahrain GP is expected to be a night race for the first time, to mark the event's tenth year in F1. Hockenheim will host the German GP this year, alternating from the Nurburgring as has been the norm.

Organisers in Korea faced financial difficulties while the race track in Mexico City is taking longer than expected to redevelop.

The Indian GP was left out of the calendar as expected.


The Grand Prix of America at Port Imperial slated for June on the streets of Weehawken and West New York, N.J. was postponed for another year due to organisational difficulties and resulting financial challenges.

Organisers of the New Jersey event, originally billed for the 2013 season, said in a statement that they are “working on restructured financial arrangements for a 2015 race.”

"There is great demand for a race in New Jersey and I have no doubt we'll be racing at Port Imperial in 2015," F1 boss Bernie Ecclestone said. "New races can take many years to get started, but there is significant momentum and we are close to realising a New York City F1 race."

Date Grand Prix
March 16 Australia
March 30 Malaysia
April 6 Bahrain
April 20 China
May 11 Spain
May 25 Monaco
June 8 Canada
June 22 Austria
July 6 Britain
July 20 Germany
July 27 Hungary
August 24 Belgium
September 7 Italy
September 21 Singapore
October 5 Japan
October 12 Russia
November 2 United States
November 9 Brazil
November 23 Abu Dhabi

Want to be the fastest to lap up F1 content? ‘Follow’ us on TWITTER and ‘like’ us on FACEBOOK.

Related: 2014, 2013